MCMJ President Lorenzo Caldwell opened the program and Rev. Theron Dotson gave the prayer and invocation. Several musical selections were preformed by GEM throughout the evening. Caldwell gave the welcome and introduced the Toast Master, Leon Griffin, and Toast Mistress, Catherine Doggett Hernandez. All past MCMJ Royalty were asked to come in front of the stage for photographs and the 2019 Coronation Court featuring King Krish and Queen Demetrice followed. After being officially crowned the 2019 King and Queen, the Royal Court King and Queen strolled the entire room, from the stage to each perimeter, greeting those in attendance with royalty like only Royalty could before taking to the dance floor for their first dance after being crowned. Dinner, featuring a full seven-course meal, was served as guests dined and visited with past royalty, the King and Queen, and the other guests in attendance. After dinner was served General Chairman Clyde Venson went to the podium and announced Kayla Wright as the 2019 LeMoyne-Owen College, Dr. R. Q. Venson Scholarship awardee. Ms. Wright was then presented with a plague and a check for $600. Venson made several additional presentations before introducing Sheriff Floyd Bonner, the 2019 MCMJ Pioneer Award Honoree. Sheriff Bonner was elated at being chosen and, thanked those in attendance and the MCMJ Board for recognizing him in this manner especially when he stated “so many pioneers had come before” him. Hip, hip, hooray, Venson led the crowd to saying several times in honor of Sheriff Bonner. Hip, hip, hooray and loud appreciation and applause ensued. Venson then gave a brief history of the Memphis Cotton Makers’ Jubilee and spoke about how important the museum was in keeping the organization alive before giving several rounds of words of thanks and closing out the 2019 Coronation program. “For more information on becoming a member or to make a donation to the MCMJ, please email crvenson@gmail.com or phone (901) 496-1811. 8

9 Publizr Home

You need flash player to view this online publication