About the Awards The Dana Kay Barber Student Writing Awards began in 1998 in remembrance of the dedicated and beloved teacher and NJWP trainer, Dana Kay Barber. The awards are given to student writers to honor Dana Kay's love of her students and love of writing. Since 1998, hundreds of students from the state of Texas have received this award. Each year a committee of teachers from all grade levels reads 300 to 700 entries. These coded entries, which reveal neither the name of the student nor the name of the district on the manuscript, are evaluated totally on the quality of the writing. It is indeed an honor to place in the event. Abydos congratulates those students who achieved this honor; we applaud their efforts, and we encourage them to keep writing. 2

3 Publizr Home

You need flash player to view this online publication