By Dr. Yvonne D. Nelson Commissioner Chairman, Van D. Turner Jr. called the Monday, February 25, 2019, meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. The deputy sheriff performed the opening of the commission and Rev. Lincoln Barnett, the Associate Pastor of Metropolitan Baptist Church and newly elected Mayor of Hughes, AR gave the invocation. An announcement was made for appearance cards for public speaking and comments requests after the minutes of the February meeting were approved as read. The Consent Agenda included four items. The first resolution, sponsored by Chairman Pro Tempore Mark Billingsley, honored Memphis 901 FC, a professional soccer team. The second resolution, sponsored by Commissioner Tami Sawyer, honored the first five African American women to serve as Shelby County Commissioners. The third resolution, sponsored by Chairman Turner, honored the life and legacy of Jerry C. Johnson, the legendary Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame Coach who served as the basketball coach at LeMoyne-Owen College for 46 years. The final proclamation, also sponsored by Turner, recognized Robert R. Church Sr. for “his heroism in the face of adversity, his business acumen, political savvy, philanthropy, and enduring contributions to Memphis and Shelby County. (Top) Commissioner Tami Sawyer (second row center in green) sponsored a resolution to honor the first five (5) African American women who served as Shelby County Commissioners on Monday, February 25, 2019. On hand to receive plaques were (from left) Henri Brooks (4th; 2006-2014), Deidra Malone (3rd; 2002-2010), Edith Ann Moore (5th; 2009-2010), family members of and representing Minerva Johnican (1st; 1976-1981), and Jeffrey Higgs (far right), LeMoyne-Owen College CDC Executive Director who accepted the honor for former Commissioner Bridget Chisholm (2nd; 2001-2002). (Left) Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame Coach Jerry C. Johnson, 101, recounted stories from days gone by as a LeMoyne-Owen College basketball coach as Shelby County Mayor Lee Harris looks on. (Right) Shelby County Commissioner Tami Sawyer sponsored a resolution to recognize the five African American women elected or appointed to serve as Shelby County Commissioners. 27

28 Publizr Home

You need flash player to view this online publication